How to get Your Real Estate Licence

Alabama

Licensure Requirements for a Salesperson

  • Minimum age of 19
  • You must be a U.S. citizen, permanent resident alien, or legally present in the U.S.
  • Proof of residency in any state in the U.S.
  • High school diploma or equivalent
  • No felony convictions or crimes relating to moral turpitude
  • Must not have had a real estate license or application for a license rejected or revoked in any other state within the last two years
  • Complete an approved 60-hour pre-license course (online or in-person) with a course grade of at least 70
  • Pass the salesperson exam within 6 months of completion of pre-license course
  • Fingerprinting
  • Apply for license

Licensure Requirements for a Broker

  • Minimum age of 19
  • You must be a U.S. citizen, permanent resident alien, or legally present in the U.S.
  • Proof of residency in any state in the U.S.
  • High school diploma or equivalent
  • No felony convictions or crimes relating to moral turpitude
  • Must not have had a real estate license or application for a license rejected or revoked in any other state within the last two years
  • Complete an approved 60-hour pre-license course (online or in-person) with a course grade of at least 70
  • Must have held a salesperson license (in any state) for 24 of the previous 36 months
  • Pass the broker exam within 6 months of completion of pre-license course
  • Fingerprinting
  • Apply for license

Step by Step Guide (Salesperson)

  1. Complete an approved 60-hour pre-license course (Approved Schools)
  2. Pass the salesperson exam within 6 months of course completion (See below for more information)
  3. Complete Fingerprinting Background Check 
  4. Apply for license (Application Instructions)
  5. Complete 30-hour post license training course within the first 12 months of being licensed. You will then be issued a permanent license.

Step by Step Guide (Broker)

  1. Complete an approved 60-hour pre-license course (Approved Schools)
  2. Pass the broker exam within 6 months of course completion (See below for more information)
  3. Complete Fingerprinting Background Check 
  4. Apply for license (License Instructions)

Obtaining a reciprocal license if you already hold a license in another state (Salesperson OR Broker):

  1. Complete a 6-hour course in Alabama Real Estate Law (Approved Schools)
  2. Pass the state portion of the exam within 6 months of course completion (See below for more information)
  3. Apply for license and submit form proving you are currently licensed in another state. For more details, refer to the Reciprocal License section on the AREC Website

Exam Info 

Salesperson: The exam costs $77 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. There are 140 total questions (100 national and 40 state law). There also may by 5-10 pre-test questions mixed into the exam. These questions are not scored, however there is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions. 

It is important that you answer each question carefully. You must achieve a score of at least 70 to pass. You have 3 ½ hours to complete the exam.

Broker: The exam costs $77 and is administered on a computer. You have one hour to complete the state portion of the exam, which consists of 40 scored multiple choice questions and up to 5 pre-test questions that do not affect the score. 

There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions, so it is important that you answer each question carefully.  You will have 2 ½ hours to complete the national portion consisting of 10 broker simulation questions. Nine of these are scored and one is not. Again, you will not know which question is not scored. You must achieve a score of at least 70 to pass.

Fees (Salesperson OR Broker):

  • Exam Fee- $77
  • License Fee- $150
  • Criminal Background Check Fee- $25
  • Research and Education Fee- $30
  • Recovery Fund Fee- $30
  • Fingerprinting- $48.25