How to get Your Real Estate Licence

New Hampshire

Licensure Requirements for a Salesperson

  • Must complete at least 40 hours of pre-licensing education (32 hours must be in-person, while 8 hours can be online)
  • Pass the salesperson exam
  • Criminal records check
  • Apply for license within 6 months of passing the exam

Licensure Requirements for a Broker

  • Must have been a full-time, licensed salesperson working for a principal broker for at least one year within the previous five years OR have accumulated at least 2000 past-time hours as a licensed salesperson in the state of New Hampshire within the previous five years
  • Must provide proof that you have been involved with at least 6 real estate transactions
  • Must complete 60 hours of pre-licensing education (For specific details and hours, refer to page 2 of the New Hampshire Candidate Handbook
  • Pass the broker exam
  • Criminal records check
  • Apply for license within 6 months of passing the exam

Step by Step Guide (Salesperson)

  1. Complete 40 hours of pre-licensing education (For a list of pre-licensing providers, refer to page 14 of the New Hampshire Candidate Handbook)
  2. Send in your exam registration along with proof that you have completed the necessary pre-licensing education and the Course Evaluation form, found on page 18 of the New Hampshire Candidate Handbook
  3. Pass the salesperson exam (See below for more information)
  4. Apply for license within 6 months of passing the exam

Step by Step Guide (Broker)

  1. Complete 60 hours of pre-licensing education (For specific details and hours, refer to page 2 of the New Hampshire Candidate Handbook. For a list of pre-licensing providers, refer to page 14.)
  2. Send in your exam registration along with proof that you have completed the necessary pre-licensing education and the Course Evaluation form, found on page 18 of the New Hampshire Candidate Handbook
  3. Pass the broker exam (See below for more information)
  4. Apply for license within 6 months of passing the exam

Exam Info

Salesperson: The exam costs $155 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. There are 140 scored questions (100 national and 40 state law), and may be 5-10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. 

There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. You must achieve a score of at least 70 to pass. You will have 3 ½ hours to complete the exam.

Broker: The exam costs $170 and is administered on a computer. The national portion consists of 10 simulation problems. Nine of these are scored and one is a pre-test question that does not affect your score. For more information on simulation problems, refer to pages 8-9 of the New Hampshire Candidate Handbook

The state law portion consists of 40 scored multiple choice questions and 5 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. 

You must achieve a sore of at least 70 on each portion to pass. You will have 2 ½ hours to complete the national portion and 1 ½ hours to complete the state law portion. 

Fees:

  • Exam Fee (Salesperson)- $155
  • Exam Fee (Broker)- $170
  • License Application Fee (Salesperson)- $90
  • License Application Fee (Broker)- $110
  • Criminal Records Check- $25