How to get Your Real Estate Licence

Nebraska

Licensure Requirements for a Salesperson

  • Minimum age of 19
  • High school diploma or equivalent
  • Must complete 60 hours of pre-license education
  • Must complete the 6-hour Professional Practice Standards course
  • Fingerprint background check
  • Pass the Nebraska state salesperson exam
  • Must obtain Errors and Omissions Insurance
  • Apply for license

Licensure Requirements for a Broker

  • Minimum age of 19
  • High school diploma or equivalent
  • Must complete 60 hours of pre-license education (This is in addition to the 60 hours you should have completed to obtain your salesperson license)
  • Must have at least 2 years of full-time experience as a licensed salesperson
  • Must complete the 6-hour Professional Practice Standards course
  • Fingerprint background check
  • Pass the Nebraska state broker exam
  • Must carry Errors and Omissions Insurance
  • Apply for license

Step by Step Guide (Salesperson)

  1. Complete 60 hours of pre-license education through an Approved School (You must also complete the 6-hour Professional Practice Standards Course, which is course 0003 on the Approved Provider/Course list)
  2. Apply for license/exam eligibility
  1. Pass the salesperson exam (See below for more information)
  2. Obtain Errors and Omissions Insurance 
  3. Fingerprint background check (Your fingerprint card will be released to you upon the Commission office receiving your application. For more information, refer to the NREC Website)

Step by Step Guide (Broker)

  1. Complete 60 hours of pre-license education through an Approved School (You must also complete the 6-hour Professional Practice Standards Course, which is course 0003 on the Approved Provider/Course list)
  2. Apply for license/exam eligibility
  1. Pass the broker exam (See below for more information)
  2. Fingerprint background check (Your fingerprint card will be released to you upon the Commission office receiving your application. For more information, refer to the NREC Website)

Obtaining a Non-Resident license in Nebraska:

Refer to the Non-Resident Licensure page on the NREC Website

Exam Info

Salesperson: The exam costs $150 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. There are 130 scored questions (80 national and 50 state law), and 5-10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. 

There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. You must achieve a score of at least 75% on each portion to pass. 

You will have 2 ½ hours to complete the national portion and 1 ½ hours to complete the state law portion.

Broker: The exam costs $150 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. In addition to standard multiple choice, the broker exam contains scenario-based questions with more than 4 possible answers to choose from. For an example of what this type of question looks like, refer to page 9 of the Nebraska Candidate Handbook

There are 125 scored questions (75 national and 50 state law), and 5-10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. 

You must achieve a score of at least 75% on each portion to pass. You will have 2 ½ hours to complete the national portion and 1 ½ hours to complete the state law portion.

Fees:

  • Exam Fee- $150
  • License Application Fee- $135
  • License Fee (Salesperson)- $80
  • License Fee (Broker)- $100