How to get Your Real Estate Licence

Arkansas

Licensure Requirements for a Salesperson

  • Minimum age of 18
  • Complete 60 hours of real estate education through an approved institution
  • Pass the salesperson exam
  • Apply for license within 90 days of passing the exam
  • Complete an approved post-license course within the first 6 months of receiving license

Licensure Requirements for a Broker

  • Minimum age of 18
  • Complete 60 hours of real estate education through an approved institution, 45 of which must be an approved Broker Pre-License Course (Must be completed within the 36 months leading up to the date of application
  • Proof that you have spent at least 24 of the previous 48 months as a licensed salesperson or broker
  • Pass the broker exam
  • Apply for license within 90 days of passing the exam
  • Complete an approved post-license course within the first 6 months of receiving license

Step by Step Guide (Salesperson)

  1. Complete 60 hours of real estate education (Approved Schools
  2. Send in Exam Application along with a completed fingerprint card at least 30 days before you wish to take the exam 
  3. Pass the salesperson exam (See below for more information)
  4. Apply for license within 90 days of passing the exam
  5. Complete a post-license course within 6 months of receiving license

Step by Step Guide (Broker)

  1. Complete 60 hours of real estate education (45 hours will be broker education) (Approved Schools
  2. Send in Exam Application along with a completed fingerprint card at least 30 days before you wish to take the exam 
  3. Pass the broker exam (See below for more information)
  4. Apply for license within 90 days of passing the exam
  5. Complete a post-license course within 6 months of receiving license

If you already hold a license (Salesperson or Broker) in another state:

Refer to pages 2-3 of the Arkansas Candidate Handbook

Exam Info

Salesperson: The exam costs $75 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. The national portion of the exam consists of 80 scored questions and 5 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. The Arkansas State Law portion of the exam consists of 30 scored questions and 10 pre-test questions. 

There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. You must achieve a score of at least 70 on both the national and state law portions to pass. When taking the exam, 4 hours is allowed for completion.

Broker: The exam costs $75 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. There are 120 scored questions (combination of national and state law), and 10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. 

There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. You must achieve a score of at least 70 to pass. When taking the exam, 4 hours is allowed for completion.

Fees (Salesperson or Broker):

  • Exam Fee- $75
  • Application Fee- $50
  • Arkansas Criminal Background Check Fee- $22
  • FBI Criminal Background Check Fee- $14.25
  • All of the above fees can be put together in one check for $86.25 and made out to “AREC”