How to get Your Real Estate Licence

Connecticut

Licensure Requirements for a Real Estate Salesperson

  • Must complete 60 hours of classroom instruction in the area of Real Estate Principles and Practices through an Approved School
  • Send in a notarized application (made available by PSI) along with certificate of completion from your school
  • Must receive Examination Eligibility Postcard from PSI before you can take the exam
  • You have one year from the date you become eligible to pass both portions of the exam
  • You have two years from the date you pass the last portion of the exam to make your license active 

Licensure Requirements for a Broker

  • Minimum age of 18
  • Must complete a 60-hour classroom course in the area of Real Estate Principles and Practices through an Approved School, as well as 15 hours in Real Estate Brokerage Principles and Practices, and 15 hours in Legal Compliance
  • Two elective courses of 15 hours each are also required, however you can substitute these elective courses with either a 30 hour course in Real Estate Appraisal OR by showing that you have completed at least 20 real estate transactions within the last 5 years
  • Send in a notarized application (made available by PSI) along with certificate of completion from your school
  • Must receive Examination Eligibility Postcard from PSI before you can take the exam
  • You have one year from the date you become eligible to pass both portions of the exam
  • You have two years from the date you pass the last portion of the exam to make your license active 

Step by Step Guide (Salesperson)

  1. Complete 60-hour course in Real Estate Principles and Practices through an Approved School
  2. Send in salesperson application (found on PDF page 12 of the Connecticut Salesperson Candidate Handbook), along with appropriate fee and certificate of completion from your school
  3. Once you receive your Examination Eligibility Postcard, you may register and pay for the exam (Registration Card is found on PDF page 13 of the Connecticut Salesperson Candidate Handbook
  4. Pass both portions of the exam within one year of becoming eligible
  5. Activate license within 2 years of passing the exam

Step by Step Guide (Broker)

  1. Complete all required courses through an Approved School
  2. Send in broker application (found on PDF page 13 of the Connecticut Broker Candidate Handbook), along with the appropriate fee and certificates of completion from all courses
  3. Once you receive your Examination Eligibility Postcard, you may register and pay for the exam (Registration Card is found on PDF page 14 of the Connecticut Broker Candidate Handbook
  4. Pass both portions of the exam within one year of becoming eligible
  5. Activate license within 2 years of passing the exam

If you already hold a license in another state (Salesperson OR Broker):

Refer to the Reciprocal License page on the Connecticut DCP website 

Exam Info

Salesperson: The exam costs $65 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. There are 110 questions (80 national and 30 state law). There may also be 5-10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. 

There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. You must achieve a score of at least 70% to pass. You will have 2 hours 45 minutes to complete the exam.

Broker: The exam costs $65 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. There are 115 questions (75 national and 40 state law). There may also be 5-10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. 

There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. You must achieve a score of at least 75% to pass. You will have 3 hours to complete the exam.

  • Schedule your exam either by calling PSI at (855) 746-8171, or by mailing or faxing your registration form found on PDF page 14 of the Connecticut Broker Candidate Handbook. Mailing address and further instructions can be found on page 4. Exam locations are found on page 5.

Fees:

Exam- $65

Application (Salesperson)- $80

Application (Broker)- $120

License Fee (Salesperson)- $285, plus a $20 guaranty fund fee

License Fee (Broker)- $565, plus a $20 guaranty fund fee