How to get Your Real Estate Licence

Virginia

Licensure Requirements for a Salesperson

  • Minimum age of 18
  • High school diploma or equivalent
  • Must complete 60 hours of pre-license education
  • Fingerprint background check
  • Pass the salesperson exam

Licensure Requirements for a Broker

  • Minimum age of 18
  • High school diploma or equivalent
  • Must complete 180 hours of pre-license education
  • Fingerprint background check (Unless you are already currently licensed as a salesperson in Virginia)
  • Must provide verification that you have spent at least 3 of the previous 4 years as an active, licensed salesperson
  • Pass the broker exam

Step by Step Guide (Salesperson)

  1. Complete 60 hours of pre-license education through an Approved School (Here is a list of Approved Courses)  
  2. After your school submits your exam eligibility to PSI, you may register for the exam 
  3. Pass the salesperson exam (See below for more information)
  4. Get fingerprints taken (This is done at the testing site upon passing the exam)
  5. Apply for License within 45 days of background check clearing

Step by Step Guide (Broker)

  1. Complete 180 hours of pre-license education through an Approved School (Here is a list of Approved Courses)
  1. After your school submits your exam eligibility to PSI, you may register for the exam 
  2. Pass the broker exam (See below for more information)
  3. Apply for License along with all appropriate documents and fees

Obtaining a reciprocal license if you are already licensed in another state:

Follow the same steps as outlined for a salesperson or broker applicant above. You must also submit with your application a Certificate of Licensure from any state you either currently hold or have previously held a license in. 

You will need to submit the exam registration form found on PDF pages 14-15 of the Virginia Candidate Handbook before you can take the exam. You will only need to pass the Virginia State Law portion of the exam.

Exam Info

Salesperson: The exam costs $60 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. There are 120 questions (80 national and 40 state law). You must achieve a score of at least 70% on the national portion and at least 75% on the state law portion to pass. You will have 2 ½ hours to complete the exam.

Broker: The exam costs $60 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. In addition to standard multiple choice, the broker exam contains scenario-based questions with more than 4 possible answers to choose from. 

For an example of what this type of question looks like, refer to page 6 of the Virginia Candidate Handbook. There are 125 questions (75 national and 50 state law). You must achieve a score of at least 75% on each portion to pass. You will have 2 hours and 40 minutes to complete the exam.

Fees:

  • Exam Fee- $60
  • License Application Fee (Salesperson)- $170
  • License Application Fee (VA Salesperson upgrading to VA Broker)- $85
  • License Application Fee (Broker by Reciprocity OR Broker by Examination)- $210