How to get Your Real Estate Licence

Maine

Licensure Requirements for a Sales Agent

  • Minimum age of 18
  • High school diploma or equivalent
  • Complete the Sales Agent course with a grade of at least 75%
  • Pass the sales agent exam within 12 months of course completion
  • Apply for license within 12 months of passing the exam

Licensure Requirements for an Associate Broker

  • Minimum age of 18
  • High school diploma or equivalent
  • Must have spent at least 2 years as an active licensee
  • Complete the 60-hour Associate Broker course with a grade of at least 75%
  • Apply for license

Licensure Requirements for a Broker

  • Minimum age of 18
  • High school diploma or equivalent
  • Must have been an active, licensed Associate Broker for at least 2 of the previous 5 years
  • Complete the Designated Broker course with a grade of at least 75%
  • Apply for license within 12 months of course completion

Step by Step Guide (Sales Agent)

  • Pass the Sales Agent course with at least a 75% (For information on approved schools and course schedules, refer to the Maine PFR Website
  • Pass the sales agent exam (See below for more information)
  • Apply for license within 12 months of passing the exam

Step by Step Guide (Associate Broker)

  1. Pass the 60-hour Associate Broker course with at least a 75% (For information on approved schools and course schedules, refer to the Maine PFR Website)
  2. Submit a license application along with the original transcript from the Associate Broker course (Must be done no more than 30 days before your current sales agent license expires and no more than 5 years after your sales agent license was originally issued)

Step by Step Guide (Broker)

  1. Pass the Designated Broker course with at least a 75% (For information on approved schools and course schedules, refer to the Maine PFR Website)
  2. Apply for license within 12 months of course completion

Obtaining a reciprocal license if you are already licensed in another state:

  1. Pass the Maine State Law portion of the exam
  2. Provide the Commission with a Certificate of Licensure from each state in which you currently hold or have ever held a license

Exam Info

Sales Agent: The exam costs $85 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. The national portion consists of 85 scored questions and 5 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. The state law portion consists of 40 scored questions and 5-15 pre-test questions that do not affect your score.