How to get Your Real Estate Licence

Illinois

Real Estate Licensure Requirements for a Broker

  • Minimum age of 18
  • High school diploma or equivalent
  • Complete 75 hours of real estate education through an Approved School
  • Fingerprinting (live scan at the testing site)
  • Pass the broker exam
  • Apply for license (Instructions will be on your passing score report/license application that you will receive at the testing site)

Licensure Requirements for a Managing Broker

  • Minimum age of 20
  • Must be currently licensed as a broker in Illinois
  • Must have been an active licensee for at least 2 of the previous 3 years
  • Complete 45 hours of real estate managing broker education through an Approved School
  • Fingerprinting (live scan at the testing site)
  • Pass the managing broker exam
  • Apply for license (Instructions will be on your passing score report/license application that you will receive at the testing site)

Licensure Requirements for a Leasing Agent

  • Minimum age of 18
  • High school diploma or equivalent
  • Complete the 15-hour Leasing Agent course through an Approved School

Step by Step Guide (Broker)

  1. Complete 75 hours of real estate education through an Approved School (Here is the Course List, complete with hours of each course and whether it is offered online, in-person, or both)
  2. Register for and pass the broker exam (You will submit fingerprints at the testing site)
  3. Apply for license (Instructions will be on your passing score report/license application that you will receive at the testing site)

Step by Step Guide (Managing Broker)

  1. Complete 45 hours of real estate managing broker education through an Approved School (Here is the Course List, complete with hours of each course and whether it is offered online, in-person, or both)
  2. Register for and pass the managing broker exam (You will submit fingerprints at the testing site)
  3. Apply for license (Instructions will be on your passing score report/license application that you will receive at the testing site)

Step by Step Guide (Leasing Agent)

  1. Complete the 15-hour Leasing Agent course through an Approved School
  2. Register for and pass the leasing agent exam (You will submit fingerprints at the testing site)
  3. Apply for license (Instructions will be on your passing score report/license application that you will receive at the testing site)

Obtaining a Reciprocal License if you are already licensed in another state:

  • Brokers: page 3
  • Managing Brokers: page 4 

Exam Info

Broker: The exam costs $55 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. There are 140 scored questions (100 national and 40 state law), and 5-10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. 

There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. You must achieve a score of at least 75 to pass. You will have 3 ½ hours to complete the exam.

Managing Broker: The exam costs $55 and is administered on a computer. The national portion consists of ten simulation questions. Nine will be scored and one is a pre-test question that does not affect your score. The state law portion of the exam consists of 40 multiple choice questions that are scored, and up to five pre-test questions that do not affect your score. 

There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. For details on what to expect with the simulation questions, refer to page 9 of the Illinois Candidate Handbook

You must achieve a score of at least 75 to pass. You will have 2 ½ hours to complete the national portion, and 1 ½ hours to complete the state law portion of the exam.

Leasing Agent: The exam costs $35. You will have 2 hours to complete the exam.

Fees

Exam Fee (Broker or Managing Broker)- $55

Exam Fee (Leasing Agent)- $35

License Application Fee (Broker)- $125

License Application Fee (Managing Broker)- $150

License Application Fee (Leasing Agent)- $75