How to get Your Real Estate Licence

West Virginia

Licensure Requirements for a Salesperson

  • Minimum age of 18
  • High school diploma or equivalent
  • Must complete 90 hours (or 6 college credit hours) of pre-license education
  • Background check
  • Pass the salesperson exam
  • Apply for license

Licensure Requirements for a Broker

Step by Step Guide (Salesperson)

  1. Complete 90 hours (or 6 college credit hours) of pre-license education through an Approved School
  2. Complete Background Check
  3. Apply for exam eligibility (Refer to the WVREC website for instructions on what to include with the application)
  1. Pass the salesperson exam (See below for more information)
  2. Apply for license (application is on page 13 of the West Virginia Candidate Handbook)

Step by Step Guide (Broker)

  1. Complete the 90-hour Broker pre-license course through one of the approved providers (Both are listed at the bottom of the Broker Licensing page on the WVREC website
  2. Complete Background Check
  3. Apply for Exam Eligibility 
  4. Pass the broker exam (See below for more information)
  5. Apply for license (application is on page 15 of the West Virginia Candidate Handbook)

Obtaining a West Virginia license if you are already licensed in another state:

Salesperson: Follow the steps as outlined above for a new licensee, plus you will need to submit with your application a Certificate of Licensure for each state you either currently hold or have ever held a license in.

Broker: Follow the steps as outlined above for a new licensee, only you will be required to take 180 hours (or 12 college credit hours) of pre-license education. You will also need to submit with your application a Certificate of Licensure for each state you either currently hold or have ever held a license in.

Exam Info

Salesperson: The exam costs $96 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. The national portion consists of 100 scored questions and 5 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. The state law portion consists of 50 scored questions and 5 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. 

There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. You must achieve a score of at least 70% on the national portion and at least 75% on the state law portion to pass. 

You will have 2 ½ hours to complete the national portion and 1 hour to complete the state law portion.

Broker: The exam costs $96 and is administered on a computer. The national portion consists of 10 simulation problems. Nine of these are scored and one is a pre-test problem that does not affect your score. For more information on the simulation problems, refer to pages 8-9 of the West Virginia Candidate Handbook. The state law portion consists of 60 scored multiple choice questions and 5 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. 

There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. You must achieve a score of at least 80% to pass the state law portion. 

For information on how the national broker simulation portion is scored, refer to pages 11-12 of the West Virginia Candidate Handbook. You will have 2 ½ hours to complete the national portion and 1 ½ hours to complete the state law portion.

Fees:

  • Exam Fee- $96
  • License Fee (Salesperson)- $75
  • Application Fee (Salesperson)- $25
  • License Fee (Broker)- $150
  • Application Fee (Broker)- $25