How to get Your Real Estate Licence

New Mexico

Licensure Requirements for an Associate Broker

  • Minimum age of 18
  • Must be a legal U.S. resident
  • Must complete 90 hours of pre-licensing education
  • Pass both the national and state portions of the broker exam
  • Fingerprinting
  • Apply for license within 6 months of passing the exam

Licensure Requirements for a Qualifying Broker

  • Minimum age of 18
  • Must be a legal U.S. resident
  • Must complete 120 hours of pre-licensing education (For alternative ways to satisfy the education requirement, refer to page 2 of the New Mexico Candidate Handbook
  • Must have been an active, licensed associate broker for at least 2 of the previous 5 years
  • Pass both the national and state portions of the broker exam
  • Fingerprinting
  • Apply for license within 6 months of passing the exam

Step by Step Guide (Associate Broker)

  1. Complete 90 hours of pre-licensing education (You can download a list of approved schools and courses from the New Mexico Real Estate Commission website)
  • Real Estate Principles and Practice- 30 hours
  • Real Estate Law- 30 hours
  • Broker Basics- 30 hours
  1. Submit exam registration form, found on pages 11-12 of the New Mexico Candidate Handbook
  • By email- allow 6 days before scheduling the exam
  • By fax- allow 6 days before scheduling the exam
  • By standard mail- allow 6 days before scheduling the exam
  1. Pass both the national and state portions of the broker exam (See below for more information)
  2. Complete Fingerprinting
  3. Apply for license within 6 months of passing the exam (Associate Broker application is found starting on page 13 of the New Mexico Candidate Handbook)

Step by Step Guide (Qualifying Broker)

  1. Complete 120 hours of pre-licensing education (You can download a list of approved schools and courses from the New Mexico Real Estate Commission website)
  • Real Estate Principles and Practice- 30 hours
  • Real Estate Law- 30 hours
  • Broker Basics- 30 hours
  • Brokerage Office Administration- 30 hours
  1. Submit exam registration form, found on pages 11-12 of the New Mexico Candidate Handbook
  • By email- allow 6 days before scheduling the exam
  • By fax- allow 6 days before scheduling the exam
  • By standard mail- allow 6 days before scheduling the exam
  1. Pass both the national and state portions of the broker exam (See below for more information)
  2. Complete Fingerprinting
  3. Apply for license within 6 months of passing the exam (Qualifying Broker application is found starting on page 21 of the New Mexico Candidate Handbook)

Exam Info

The exam costs $95 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. In addition to standard multiple choice, there will be scenario-based questions with more than 4 possible answers to choose from. The national portion consists of 75 scored questions and 5-10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. The state law portion consists of 50 scored questions and 5-10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. 

There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. You must achieve a score of at least 75% on both national and state law to pass. 

You will have 2 hours to complete the national portion and 1 hour to complete the state law portion. Once you take the first exam, you have 90 days to pass both portions.

Fees:

  • Exam Fee- $95
  • License Fee (Associate Broker)- $270
  • License Fee (Qualifying Broker)- $270 for Out-of-State applicants, NO FEE for a New Mexico license upgrade
  • Fingerprinting- $44