How to get Your Real Estate Licence

South Carolina

Licensure Requirements for a Salesperson

  • Minimum age of 18
  • High school diploma or equivalent
  • Must be lawfully present in the U.S.
  • Criminal Background Check 
  • Must complete 90 hours of pre-license education
  • Pass the salesperson exam
  • Apply for license

Licensure Requirements for a Broker

  • Minimum age of 21
  • High school diploma or equivalent
  • Must be lawfully present in the U.S.
  • Criminal Background Check 
  • Must have spent at least 3 of the previous 5 years as an active, licensed salesperson
  • Must complete 60 hours of broker pre-license education
  • Pass the broker exam
  • Apply for license

Step by Step Guide (Salesperson)

  1. Complete 90 hours of pre-license education through an Approved School 
  • Unit 1: Sales- 60 hours (Taken prior to exam)
  • Unit 2: Advanced Real Estate Principles- 30 hours (Taken after exam but before applying for license)
  1. Submit exam application
  1. Pass the salesperson exam (See below for more information)
  2. Apply for license (Application provided at exam site)
  3. Complete the Criminal Background Check (You will receive instructions upon the Commission receiving your license application)

Step by Step Guide (Broker)

  1. Complete 60 hours of broker pre-license education through an Approved School
  • Broker IIIA
  • Broker IIIB
  1. Submit exam application
  1. Pass the broker exam
  2. Apply for license (Application provided at exam site)
  3. Complete the Criminal Background Check (You will receive instructions upon the Commission receiving your license application)

Obtaining a reciprocal license if you already hold a license in Georgia:

Salesperson: Salesperson by Reciprocity Application

Broker: Broker by Reciprocity Application

Exam Info

Salesperson: The exam costs $63 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. There are 120 scored questions (80 national and 40 state law), and 5-10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. 

There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. You must achieve a score of at least 70% to pass. You will have 3 hours and 20 minutes to complete the exam.

Broker: The exam costs $63 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. In addition to standard multiple choice, the broker exam contains scenario-based questions with more than 4 possible answers to choose from. For an example of what this type of question looks like, refer to page 6 of the South Carolina Candidate Handbook

There are 125 scored questions (75 national and 50 state law), and 5-10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully.  

You must achieve a score of at least 75% to pass. You will have 3 hours and 20 minutes to complete the exam.

Fees:

  • Exam Fee- $63
  • Application Fee- $25
  • License Fee (Salesperson)- $50
  • License Fee (Broker)- $125