How to get Your Real Estate Licence

Missouri

Licensure Requirements for a Salesperson

  • Minimum age of 18
  • Must complete a 48-hour pre-licensing course from an Approved School 
  • Pass the salesperson exam
  • Fingerprinting
  • Must complete a 24-hour Missouri Real Estate Practice Course from an Approved School
  • Apply for license within 6 months of pre-license course completion

Licensure Requirements for a Broker

  • Minimum age of 18
  • Must have been an active, licensed salesperson in Missouri for at least 24 of the last 30 months
  • Must complete a 48-hour broker pre-licensing course from an Approved School
  • Pass the broker exam
  • Fingerprinting
  • Apply for license within 6 months of pre-license course completion (Instructions are on your passing score report you will receive from the testing center)

Step by Step Guide (Salesperson)

  1. Complete a 48-hour pre-licensing course from an Approved School
  1. Pass the salesperson exam (See below for more information)
  2. Fingerprint background check (For instructions, refer to the Licensure Eligibility Requirements page)
  3. Complete the 24-hour Missouri Real Estate Practice Course from an Approved School (This must be done before you can apply for a license)
  4. Apply for license within 6 months of pre-license course completion (Instructions are on your passing score report you will receive from the testing center)

Step by Step Guide (Broker)

  1. Complete a 48-hour broker pre-licensing course from an Approved School
  1. Pass the broker exam (See below for more information)
  2. Fingerprint background check (For instructions, refer to the Licensure Eligibility Requirements page)
  3. Apply for license within 6 months of broker pre-license course completion (Instructions are on your passing score report you will receive from the testing center)

Obtaining a reciprocal license if you are already licensed in another state:

Salesperson

  1. Pass the Missouri State Law portion of the salesperson exam
  2. Complete the 24-hour Complete the 24-hour Missouri Real Estate Practice Course from an Approved School (This must be done before you can apply for a license)
  3. Apply for license within 6 months of passing the exam (Instructions are on your passing score report you will receive from the testing center)

Broker

  1. Must have spent at least 24 of the previous 30 months as an active, licensed salesperson or broker
  2. Pass the Missouri State Law portion of the broker exam
  3. Apply for license within 6 months of passing the exam (Instructions are on your passing score report you will receive from the testing center)
  • You must include with the application a Certified License History from each state you are currently licensed in

Exam Info

Salesperson: The exam costs $62 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. There are 140 scored questions (100 national and 40 state law), and 5 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. 

There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. You must achieve a score of at least 70% on the national portion and at least 75% on the state law portion to pass. You will have 4 hours to complete the exam.


Broker: The exam costs $62 and is administered on a computer. The national portion consists of 10 simulation questions. Nine of these are scored and one is a pre-test question that does not affect your score. 

There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. For details on what to expect with the simulation questions, refer to page 6 of the Missouri Candidate Handbook

The state law portion consists of 75 scored questions and 5 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. You must achieve a score of at least 75% on the state law portion to pass. For information on how the national portion is scored, refer to page 10 of the Missouri Candidate Handbook. You will have 4 ½ hours to complete the exam.

Fees:

  • Exam Fee- $62
  • Fingerprinting (Salesperson)- $41.75
  • Fingerprinting (Broker)- $40.50
  • License Application Fee- $50
  • Initial License Fee (Salesperson)- $40
  • Initial License Fee (Broker)- $80
  • Initial License Fee (Non-Resident Salesperson)- $100
  • Initial License Fee (Non-Resident Broker)- $150