How to get Your Real Estate Licence

Delaware

Licensure Requirements for a Salesperson

  • Minimum age of 18
  • Complete a 99-hour Delaware pre-licensing course (in-person or online) through an Approved School 
  • Pass the salesperson exam in 3 or fewer attempts
  • Apply for License within one year of pre-license course completion

Licensure Requirements for an Associate Broker

  • Minimum age of 23
  • Must have been an active licensee for the past 5 years
  • Complete a 99-hour Delaware broker pre-licensing course (in-person or online) through an Approved School
  • Pass the broker exam in 3 or fewer attempts
  • Apply for License within one year of broker pre-license course completion
  • Application must include the school certificate and a list of at least 30 real estate transactions you have completed within the last 5 years

Licensure Requirements for a Broker

  • Minimum age of 23
  • Must have been an active licensee for the past 5 years
  • Proof that you have been active in practicing real estate for the past 3 years
  • Must apply for a real estate office permit
  • Complete a 99-hour Delaware broker pre-licensing course (in-person or online) through an Approved School
  • Pass the broker exam in 3 or fewer attempts
  • Apply for License within one year of broker pre-license course completion
  • Application must include the school certificate and a list of at least 30 real estate transactions you have completed within the last 5 years
  • Must submit verification of your responsibilities regarding the management of the brokerage you have been working for

Step by Step Guide (Salesperson)

  1. Complete a 99-hour Delaware pre-licensing course (in-person or online) through an Approved School and obtain school certificate
  2. Pass the salesperson exam in 3 or fewer attempts (See below for more information)
  3. Apply for License within one year of course completion
  • After you start the online application, you must complete it within 6 months

Step by Step Guide (Associate Broker)

  1. Complete a 99-hour Delaware broker pre-licensing course (in-person or online) through an Approved School
  2. Pass the broker exam in 3 or fewer attempts (See below for more information)
  3. Apply for License within one year of broker pre-license course completion
  • After you start the online application, you must complete it within 6 months

Step by Step Guide (Broker)

  1. Complete a 99-hour Delaware broker pre-licensing course (in-person or online) through an Approved School
  2. Pass the broker exam in 3 or fewer attempts (See below for more information)
  3. Apply for a real estate office permit
  4. Apply for License within one year of broker pre-license course completion
  • After you start the online application, you must complete it within 6 months

If you already hold a license in another state and are applying for a Reciprocal License:

Refer to section 2909 of the Delaware Code 

Exam Info

Salesperson: The exam costs $85 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. The national portion of the exam consists of 80 scored questions and 5 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. The Delaware State Law portion of the exam consists of 40 scored questions and 10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. 

There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. You must achieve a score of at least 70 to pass. You have 4 hours to complete the exam.

Associate Broker: The exam costs $85 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. The national portion of the exam consists of 80 scored questions and 5 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. The Delaware State Law portion of the exam consists of 50 scored questions and 10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. 

There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. You must achieve a score of at least 70 to pass. You have 4 hours to complete the exam.

Broker: The exam costs $85 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. The national portion of the exam consists of 80 scored questions and 5 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. The Delaware State Law portion of the exam consists of 50 scored questions and 10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. 

There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. You must achieve a score of at least 70 to pass. You have 4 hours to complete the exam. 

Register online at http://www.pearsonvue.com/de/realestate or by calling (800) 274-2604

Fees:

  • Exam Fee- $85
  • License Fee (Salesperson)- $131
  • License Fee (Associate Broker)- $209
  • License Fee (Broker)- $228
  • Guaranty Fund Fee- $25