How to get Your Real Estate Licence

Kansas

Licensure Requirements for a Salesperson

  • Minimum age of 18
  • High school diploma or equivalent
  • Complete 30-hour Principles of Real Estate course through an Approved School (This must be done no more than 12 months prior to passing the exam)
  • Complete 30-hour Kansas Practice Course through an Approved School (This must be done no more than 6 months preceding the license application)
  • Fingerprinting
  • Pass the salesperson exam
  • Apply for license within 6 months of passing the exam

Licensure Requirements for a Broker

  • Minimum age of 18
  • High school diploma or equivalent
  • Must have been an active licensee in Kansas for 2 of the previous 3 years
  • Complete 30-hour Kansas Real Estate Broker Fundamentals course through an Approved School (This must be done no more than 12 months prior to passing the exam)
  • Complete 30-hour Kansas Real Estate Management Course through an Approved School (This must be done no more than 6 months preceding the license application)
  • Fingerprinting
  • Pass the broker exam
  • Apply for license within 6 months of passing the exam

Step by Step Guide (Salesperson)

  1. Complete 30-hour Principles of Real Estate course through an Approved School (This must be done no more than 12 months prior to passing the exam)
  2. Pass the salesperson exam (See below for more information)
  3. Complete 30-hour Kansas Practice Course through an Approved School (This must be done no more than 6 months preceding the license application)
  4. Get fingerprint card either from a police station, sheriff’s office, or the Commission
  5. Submit Background Check Waiver along with your fingerprint card and applicable fees
  6. Submit license application along with your exam score report (these will be provided at the testing center upon passing the exam)

Step by Step Guide (Broker)

  1. Complete 30-hour Kansas Real Estate Broker Fundamentals course through an Approved School (This must be done no more than 12 months prior to passing the exam)
  2. Pass the broker exam (See below for more information)
  3. Complete 30-hour Kansas Real Estate Management Course through an Approved School (This must be done no more than 6 months preceding the license application)
  4. Get fingerprint card either from a police station, sheriff’s office, or the Commission
  5. Submit Background Check Waiver along with your fingerprint card and applicable fees
  6. Submit license application along with your exam score report (these will be provided at the testing center upon passing the exam)
  7. If opening a new office, you must submit a Form RE-430 along with the applicable fee

Obtaining a Kansas license if you are already licensed in another state (Salesperson):

  • Must currently hold a license in the state you live in
  • Must submit a Certified License History from each state you either currently hold or have ever held a license in
  • Must submit a Non-Resident Form 
  • Complete 30-hour Kansas Practice Course through an Approved School (This must be done no more than 6 months preceding the license application)
  • Submit a Client Waiver Request Form, so that you are exempt from taking the national portion of the exam (For more details, refer to the Client Waiver Process page on the Pearson VUE Website) DO NOT schedule your exam until you have received confirmation that the national portion has been waived
  • Pass the Kansas State Law portion of the salesperson exam
  • Submit license application along with your exam score report (these will be provided at the testing center upon passing the exam)


Obtaining a Kansas license if you are already licensed in another state (Broker):

  • Must currently hold a broker license in the state you live in
  • Must submit a Certified License History from each state you either currently hold or have ever held a license in
  • Must submit a Non-Resident Form 
  • Complete 4-hour Kansas Law Course through an Approved School (This must be done no more than 6 months preceding the license application)
  • Submit a Client Waiver Request Form, so that you are exempt from taking the national portion of the exam (For more details, refer to the Client Waiver Process page on the Pearson VUE Website) DO NOT schedule your exam until you have received confirmation that the national portion has been waived
  • Pass the Kansas State Law portion of the broker exam
  • Submit license application along with your exam score report (these will be provided at the testing center upon passing the exam)

Exam Info

Salesperson: The exam costs $82 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. The national portion consists of 80 scored questions and 5 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. The state law portion consists of 30 scored questions and 10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. 

There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. You must achieve a score of at least 70 to pass. You will have 2 ½ hours to complete the national portion and 1 ½ hours for the state law portion.

Broker: The exam costs $82 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. The national portion consists of 80 scored questions and 5 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. The state law portion consists of 40 scored questions and 10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. 

There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. You must achieve a score of at least 70 to pass. You will have 2 ½ hours to complete the national portion and 1 ½ hours for the state law portion.

Fees:

Exam Fee- $82

License Application Fee (Salesperson)- $15

License Application Fee (Broker)- $50

License Fee (Salesperson)- $125

License Fee (Broker)- $175

Fingerprinting Fee- $60

Opening a new company or branch office (brokers only)- $100