How to get Your Real Estate Licence

Utah

Licensure Requirements for a Sales Agent

  • Minimum age of 18
  • High school diploma or equivalent
  • Must complete 120 hours of salesperson pre-license education
  • Pass the sales agent exam
  • Fingerprint background check
  • Apply for license

Licensure Requirements for a Broker

  • Minimum age of 18
  • High school diploma or equivalent
  • Must have spent at least 3 of the previous 5 years as an active, full-time licensed agent
  • Must have at least 60 documented experience points
  • Must complete 120 hours of broker pre-license education
  • Pass the broker exam
  • Fingerprint background check
  • Apply for license

Step by Step Guide (Sales Agent)

  1. Complete 120 hours of salesperson pre-license education through an Approved School
  1. Pass the salesperson exam (See below for more information)
  • You must present your Education Certification at the exam site, which is found on PDF page 20 of the Utah Candidate Handbook 
  1. Apply for license within 90 days of passing the exam and within 12 months of completing the pre-license education (Refer to the Sales Agent Application Checklist to be sure you are including all the required documents and fees)

Step by Step Guide (Broker)

  1. Complete 120 hours of broker pre-license education through an Approved School
  1. Pass the broker exam (See below for more information)
  • You must present your Education Certification at the exam site, which is found on PDF page 20 of the Utah Candidate Handbook 
  1. Apply for license within 90 days of passing the exam and within 12 months of completing the pre-license education (Refer to the Broker Application Checklist to be sure you are including all the required documents and fees)

Obtaining a reciprocal license if you are already licensed in another state:

Refer to the Reciprocity qualifications section of the Utah DRE Website 

Exam Info

Sales Agent: The exam costs $59 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. The national portion consists of 80 scored questions and 5 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. The state law portion consists of 50 scored questions and 5-10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. 

There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. You must achieve a score of at least 70 on each portion to pass. You will have 4 hours to complete the exam.

Broker: The exam costs $59 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. The national portion consists of 80 scored questions and 5 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. The state law portion consists of 90 scored questions and 5-10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. 

There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. You must achieve a score of at least 75 on each portion to pass. You will have 4 hours to complete the exam.

Fees:

  • Exam Fee- $59
  • License Application Fee- $100
  • Recovery Fund Fee (Salesperson)- $12
  • Recovery Fund Fee (Broker)- $18
  • Fingerprinting Fee- $40
  • FBI RAPBACK Enrollment Fee- $5