How to get Your Real Estate Licence

Oregon

Licensure Requirements for a Broker

  • Minimum age of 18
  • High school diploma or equivalent
  • Apply for license 
  • Must complete 150 hours of broker pre-license education
  • Pass the broker exam
  • Fingerprint background check

Licensure Requirements for a Principal Broker

  • Minimum age of 18
  • High school diploma or equivalent
  • Must have spent at least 3 years as an active, licensed agent
  • Apply for license
  • Must complete the 40-hour Brokerage Administration and Sales Supervision course
  • Pass the principal broker exam

Step by Step Guide (Broker)

  1. Create an account in eLicense
  2. Apply for license (This is done through your new eLicense account)
  3. Complete 150 hours of broker pre-license education through an Approved School
  4. Pass the broker exam (See below for more information) 
  5. Submit Fingerprint Background Check along with the appropriate fee (This is done at the testing site) 
  6. Your license will be issued upon:
  • Your background check clearing
  • Your principal broker adding your license to the business
  • Final review of your application

Step by Step Guide (Principal Broker)

  1. Apply for Principal Broker’s license in your eLicense account
  2. Complete the 40-hour Brokerage Administration and Sales Supervision course through an Approved School
  3. Pass the principal broker exam (See below for more information)
  4. You will receive email notification of your license being approved upon: 
  • Your background check clearing
  • Either your new principal broker adding your license to the business OR your registered business name being approved 
  • Final review of application

Obtaining a license in Oregon if you are licensed in another state:

Refer to the Out-of-State Licensees page on the OREA Website 

Exam Info

Broker: The exam costs $75 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. The national portion consists of 80 scored questions and 5-10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. The state law portion consists of 50 scored questions and 5-10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. 

There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. You must achieve a score of at least 75% to pass. You will have 2 ½ hours to complete the national portion and 1 ½ hours to complete the state law portion.

Principal Broker: The exam costs $75 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. In addition to standard multiple choice, the broker exam contains scenario-based questions with more than 4 possible answers to choose from. For an example of what this type of question looks like, refer to pages 17-18 of the Oregon Candidate Handbook

The national portion consists of 75 scored questions and 5-10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. The state law portion consists of 50 scored questions and 5-10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. 

You must achieve a score of at least 75% to pass. You will have 2 ½ hours to complete the national portion and 1 ½ hours to complete the state law portion.

Fees:

  • Exam Fee- $75
  • License Application Fee- $300
  • Fingerprinting Fee- $56.25