How to get Your Real Estate Licence

Wyoming

Licensure Requirements for a Salesperson

  • Minimum age of 18
  • Must complete the pre-license education requirement (More information in the Step-by-Step Guide below)
  • Fingerprint background check
  • Must obtain and maintain Errors and Omissions Insurance
  • Pass the salesperson exam
  • Apply for license

Licensure Requirements for a Broker

  • Minimum age of 18
  • Must complete the pre-license education requirement (More information in the Step-by-Step Guide below)
  • Fingerprint background check
  • Must carry Errors and Omissions Insurance
  • Pass the broker exam
  • Apply for license

Step by Step Guide (Salesperson)

  1. Submit Fingerprints 
  2. Complete the following pre-license courses through an Approved School
  • Salesperson 1
  • Salesperson 2
  • Wyoming Law
  1. Pass the salesperson exam (See below for more information)
  2. Obtain Errors and Omissions Insurance (Refer to the Wyoming Real Estate Commission website for details) 
  3. Apply for License within 90 days of passing the exam along with all appropriate documents and fees.

Step by Step Guide (Broker)

  1. Submit Fingerprints 
  2. Complete the following pre-license courses through an Approved School
  • Broker 1
  • Broker 2
  • Wyoming Law
  • Wyoming Broker Management
  1. Pass the broker exam (See below for more information)
  2. Apply for License within 90 days of passing the exam along with all appropriate documents and fees.  

Obtaining a Wyoming license if you are already licensed in another state:

Salesperson: Follow the steps as outlined above for a new licensee, only you are exempt from taking the Salesperson 1 course and the national portion of the exam. In addition, you will need to provide a Certified License History for each state you either currently hold or have ever held a license in, as well as submit a Consent to Service of Process form. 

Broker: Follow the steps as outlined above for a new licensee, only you are exempt from taking the Broker 1 course and the national portion of the exam. In addition, you will need to provide a Certified License History for each state you either currently hold or have ever held a license in, as well as submit a Consent to Service of Process form.

Exam Info

Salesperson: The exam costs $80 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. The national portion consists of 80 scored questions and 5 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. The state law portion consists of 40 scored questions and 5-10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. 

There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. You will have 2 ½ hours to complete the national portion and 1 ½ hours to complete the state law portion.

Broker: The exam costs $80 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. The national portion consists of 80 scored questions and 5 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. The state law portion consists of 50 scored questions and 5-10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. 

There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. You will have 2 ½ hours to complete the national portion and 1 ½ hours to complete the state law portion.

Fees:

  • Exam Fee (Testing Center)- $80
  • Exam Fee (Online-Proctored)- $90
  • License Fee- $300
  • Fingerprinting Fee- $39