How to get Your Real Estate Licence

Rhode Island

Licensure Requirements for a Salesperson

  • Must complete at least 45 hours of salesperson pre-license education
  • Criminal history record
  • Must obtain and maintain Errors and Omissions Insurance
  • Lead Poisoning Certificate of Completion
  • Pass the salesperson exam
  • Apply for license

Licensure Requirements for a Broker

  • Must complete at least 90 hours of broker pre-license education
  • Must have spent at least 2 years as an active, licensed salesperson
  • Must carry Errors and Omissions Insurance
  • Lead Poisoning Certificate of Completion
  • Pass the broker exam
  • Apply for license

Step by Step Guide (Salesperson)

  1. Complete 45 hours of salesperson pre-license education through an approved school (For a full list of education providers and more, refer to the “Applications and Forms” tab on the Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation website) 
  2. Pass the salesperson exam
  3. Apply for License along with all appropriate fees and documentation as outlined on the application

Step by Step Guide (Broker)

  1. Complete 90 hours of broker pre-license education through an approved school (For a full list of education providers and more, refer to the “Applications and Forms” tab on the Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation website)
  2. Pass the broker exam
  3. Apply for License along with all appropriate fees and documentation as outlined on the application

Obtaining a reciprocal license if you are currently licensed in Connecticut, Massachusetts, or Florida:

Refer to the Reciprocal Salesperson Application and Instructions page  

Exam Info

Salesperson: The exam costs $70 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. The national portion consists of 80 scored questions and 5 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. The state law portion consists of 50 scored questions and 10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. 

There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. 

You must achieve a score of at least 70 to pass. You will have 2 ½ hours to complete the national portion and 1 ½ hours to complete the state law portion.

Broker: The exam costs $70 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. The national portion consists of 80 scored questions and 5 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. The state law portion consists of 60 scored questions and 10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. 

There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. 

You must achieve a score of at least 70 to pass. You will have 2 ½ hours to complete the national portion and 1 ½ hours to complete the state law portion.

Fees:

  • Exam Fee- $70
  • License Application Fee (Salesperson)- $140
  • License Application Fee (Broker)- $180
  • Recovery Fund Fee- $25