How to get Your Real Estate Licence

Colorado

Licensure Requirements

  • Minimum age of 18
  • Complete 168 hours of pre-license education OR obtain a Real Estate degree from an accredited college or university
  • Pass the broker exam
  • Fingerprinting
  • Must obtain Errors and Omissions Insurance
  • Apply for License within one year of passing the exam

Step by Step Guide

  1. Complete education requirement through an Approved Real Estate Institution  according to the CDRE Application Requirements.
  2. Pass the Colorado broker exam (See below for more information)
  3. Complete Fingerprinting Background Check
  4. Obtain Errors and Omissions Insurance
  5. Apply for License within one year of passing the exam

If you hold a license (active or inactive) in another state:

Refer to the Broker License Applications Requirements page on the CDRE website. 

Exam Info

The exam costs $44.95 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. The national portion consists of 80 questions. You must get at least 60 correct and will have 120 minutes to complete it. The Colorado State Law portion consists of 74 questions. You must get at least 53 correct and will have 110 minutes to complete it.

Fees:

  • Exam- $44.95
  • Broker Application- $200