How to get Your Real Estate Licence

Iowa

Licensure Requirements for a Salesperson

  • Minimum age of 18
  • Must not have had a license rejected in any state in the previous 12 months
  • Must not have had a license revoked in any state in the previous 24 months
  • No criminal convictions involving “moral turpitude” as outlined on pages 7-8 of the Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons section of the Iowa Code 
  • Criminal Background Check 
  • Must carry Errors and Omissions Insurance 
  • Complete 60 hours of pre-license education from an Approved School
  • Pass the salesperson exam within 12 months of completing education
  • Submit Online License Application  

Licensure Requirements for a Broker

  • Minimum age of 18
  • Must not have had a license rejected in any state in the previous 12 months
  • Must not have had a license revoked in any state in the previous 24 months
  • No criminal convictions involving “moral turpitude” as outlined on pages 7-8 of the Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons section of the Iowa Code 
  • Criminal Background Check 
  • Must carry Errors and Omissions Insurance 
  • Must have been an active licensed salesperson for at least 2 years prior to application
  • Complete 72 hours of broker pre-license education through an Approved School (Specific courses and hours are listed in the “broker by exam” section of the Conversion Sales to Broker Form)
  • Pass the broker exam within 2 years of completing education
  • For more information on how you can qualify to become a broker, refer to the Conversion Sales to Broker Form

Step by Step Guide (Salesperson)

  1. Complete 60 hours of pre-license education from an Approved School
  2. Complete Criminal Background Check 
  3. Obtain Errors and Omissions Insurance
  4. Pass the salesperson exam (See below for more information)
  5. Submit Online License Application  

Step by Step Guide (Broker)

  1. Complete 72 hours of broker pre-license education through an Approved School (Specific courses and hours are listed in the “broker by exam” section of the Conversion Sales to Broker Form)
  2. Pass the broker exam (See below for more information)
  3. Submit Online License Application

Obtaining a Reciprocal License if you are already licensed in another state (Salesperson or Broker):

Refer to either the “Salesperson by Reciprocity” section or the “Broker by Reciprocity” section of the Iowa Salesperson/Broker Information Sheet

Exam Info

Salesperson: The exam costs $95 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. There are 120 scored questions (80 national and 40 state law), and 5-10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. 

There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. You must achieve a score of at least 84 to pass. You will have 3 hours to complete the exam. 

Broker: The exam costs $95 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. Some of the questions on the national portion are scenario-based questions with more than 4 choices. For more information, refer to pages 3 and 7 of the Iowa Candidate Handbook. There are 115 scored questions (75 national and 40 state law), and 5-10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. 

There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. You must achieve a score of at least 90 to pass. You will have 3 hours to complete the exam.

Fees:

Exam Fee- $95

License Fee (Salesperson)- $125

License Fee (Broker)- $170

Fingerprint Card and Waiver Form Fee- $51