How to get Your Real Estate Licence

Kentucky

Licensure Requirements for a Sales Associate

  • No felonies
  • No misdemeanors within the past 5 years
  • Pass the sales associate exam
  • Apply for license within 60 days of passing the exam
  • Complete 48 hours of post-license education from an Approved School within 2 years of license becoming active

Licensure Requirements for a Broker

  • No felonies
  • No misdemeanors within the past 5 years

Step by Step Guide (Sales Associate)

  1. Complete 96 hours of real estate education through an Approved School OR 6 credit hours in the study of real estate from an accredited college or university
  2. Complete the Fingerprint Background Check 
  3. Pass the sales associate exam (See below for more information)
  4. Obtain Errors and Omissions Insurance
  5. Apply for license within 60 days of passing the exam
  6. Complete 48 hours of post-license education from an Approved School within 2 years of license becoming active. (For details on specific courses and hours, refer to the KREC Website)

Step by Step Guide (Broker)

  1. Complete education requirement as outlined on page 1 of the Kentucky Candidate Handbook
  2. Submit Broker Education Review Form 
  3. Complete the Fingerprint Background Check 
  4. Pass the broker exam (DO NOT register for the exam until your Broker education Review Form has been verified by the KREC)
  5. Apply for license within 60 days of passing the exam

Obtaining a reciprocal license if you are already licensed in another state:

Refer to page 2 of the Kentucky Candidate Handbook 

Exam Info

Sales Associate: The exam costs $100 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. There are 130 scored questions (80 national and 50 state law), and 5-10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. 

There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. You must achieve a score of at least 75% to pass. You will have 2 ½ hours to complete the national portion and 1 ½ hours to complete the state law portion.


Broker:  The exam costs $100 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. There are 125 scored questions (75 national and 50 state law), and 5-10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. 

There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. You must achieve a score of at least 75% to pass. You will have 2 ½ hours to complete the national portion and 1 ½ hours to complete the state law portion.

Fees:

Exam Fee- $100

License Application Fee (Sales Associate)- $130

License Application Fee (Broker)- $60

Background Check Fee- $18 through the FBI or $51.25 through KREC

License History Certification Fee (If Applicable)- $10

Broker Education Review Form Fee (Broker Applicants Only)- $10