How to get Your Real Estate Licence

Vermont

Licensure Requirements for a Salesperson

Licensure Requirements for a Broker

Step by Step Guide (Salesperson)

  1. Complete 40 hours of pre-license education through an Approved School
  2. Pass the national portion of the salesperson exam (See below for more information)
  3. Submit the Online Application along with all appropriate documents
  4. Pass the state law portion of the salesperson exam (Found in the application)
  5. Complete 8 hours of post-license education through an Approved School (must be done within 90 days of licensure)

Step by Step Guide (Broker)

  1. Complete 40 hours of pre-license education through an Approved School
  2. Pass the national portion of the broker exam (See below for more information)
  3. Submit the Online Application along with all appropriate documents
  4. Pass the state law portion of the broker exam (Found in the application)
  5. If you will be opening your own brokerage firm, refer to the Brokerage Firm section of the Application Instructions page

If you are already licensed in another state:

Refer to the Endorsement section of the Application Instructions page 

Exam Info

Salesperson: The exam costs $110 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. There are 100 scored questions and 5 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. 

For information on how passing scores are determined, refer to page 10 of the Vermont Candidate Handbook. You will have 2 ½ hours to complete the exam. The state law portion of the exam is administered as part of the Online Application. This is done through the Vermont Office of Professional Regulation.

Broker: The exam costs $110 and is administered on a computer. The broker exam consists of 10 simulation problems. Nine of these are scored and one is a pre-test question that does not affect your score. There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully.

For more information on the simulation exam, refer to pages 7-8 of the Vermont Candidate Handbook. For information on how passing scores are determined, refer to page 10. You will have 2 ½ hours to complete the exam. The state law portion of the exam is administered as part of the Online Application. This is done through the Vermont Office of Professional Regulation.

Fees:

  • Exam Fee (National Portion)- $110
  • License Application Fee (Salesperson OR Broker)- $110
  • Brokerage Firm Registration Fee- $200