How to get Your Real Estate Licence

Louisiana

Licensure Requirements for a Salesperson 

Step by Step Guide provided by the LREC 

  • Minimum age of 18
  • High school diploma or equivalent
  • For more details on the education requirement, refer to the LREC Website  

Licensure Requirements for a Broker 

Step by Step Guide provided by the LREC

  • Must have spent at least 4 years as an active licensee in any state (2 years need to be immediately leading up to a broker license being issued)
  • High school diploma or equivalent
  • Must complete 150 hours of real estate education through an Approved School 
  • For more details on the education requirement, refer to the LREC Website  

Exam Info

Salesperson: The exam costs $85 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. There are 135 scored questions (80 national and 55 state law), and 5-10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. 

There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. You will have 1 hour 45 minutes to complete the national portion (must achieve a score of at least 56), and 1 hour 15 minutes to complete the state law portion (must achieve a score of at least 40).

Broker: The exam costs $85 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. The broker exam contains scenario-based questions with more than 4 possible answers to choose from. For an outline on what this looks like, refer to page 9 of the Louisiana Candidate Handbook. There are 130 scored questions (75 national and 55 state law), and 5-10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. 

There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. You will have 1 hour 45 minutes to complete the national portion (must achieve a score of at least 60), and 1 hour 15 minutes to complete the state law portion (must achieve a score of at least 40).

Fees:

  • Exam Fee- $85
  • License Application Fee (Salesperson)- $45
  • License Application Fee (Broker)- $120
  • Application Processing Fee- $25
  • Research and Education Fund Fee- $10
  • Recovery Fund Fee- $10