How to get Your Real Estate Licence

Minnesota

Licensure Requirements for a Salesperson

  • Minimum age of 18
  • Complete 90 total hours of pre-license education through an Approved School (3 courses consisting of 30 hours each)
  • Pass the salesperson exam
  • Must be affiliated with a licensed broker

Licensure Requirements for a Broker

  • Minimum age of 18
  • Must have already completed the education required of salespersons as well as passed the salesperson exam
  • Complete the 30-hour broker pre-license course through an Approved School
  • Pass the broker exam
  • Apply for license (If you are not applying to become a primary broker, you must be affiliated with one)

Step by Step Guide (Salesperson)

  1. Complete 90 total hours of pre-license education through an Approved School (3 courses consisting of 30 hours each)
  2. You must pass Course 1 before you can take the exam. Courses 2 and 3 can be taken after the exam, but must be completed before you can apply for a license. 
  3. Pass the salesperson exam (See below for more information)
  4. Affiliate with a licensed broker (Your broker will submit your license application)

Step by Step Guide (Broker)

  1. Complete the 30-hour broker pre-license course through an Approved School
  2. Pass the broker exam (See below for more information)
  3. Apply for license (If you are not applying to become a primary broker, you must be affiliated with one)

Obtaining a reciprocal license if you are already licensed in another state:

Refer to the Minnesota Commerce Department website. There will be several drop-down menus to choose from. You will want to select either “Salesperson/Non-Resident” or “Broker/Non-Resident,” whichever applies.

Exam Info

Salesperson: The exam costs $63 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. The national portion consists of 80 scored questions and 5 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. The state law portion consists of 50 scored questions and 5-10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. 

There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. You must achieve a score of at least 75 to pass. You will have 4 hours to complete the exam.

Broker: The exam costs $63 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. The national portion consists of 80 scored questions and 5 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. The state law portion consists of 60 scored questions and 5-10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. 

There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. You must achieve a score of at least 75 to pass. You will have 4 hours to complete the exam.

Fees:

  • Exam Fee- $63
  • License Fee (Salesperson)- $100
  • License Fee (Broker)- $180