How to get Your Real Estate Licence

North Carolina

Licensure Requirements for a Broker

  • Minimum age of 18
  • Must be one of the following
  • U.S. citizen
  • Non-resident national
  • Alien authorized to work in the U.S.
  • Must be able to provide a valid social security number
  • Complete the 75-hour broker pre-license course
  • Pass the broker exam
  • Criminal background check
  • Apply for license

Step by Step Guide (Broker)

  1. Complete the 75-hour broker pre-license course through an Approved School
  1. Apply for License 
  1. Once you receive a Notice of Examination Eligibility, you can schedule your exam with PSI
  2. Pass the broker exam (See below for more information)
  3. Commission will issue your license upon review of character

If you are already licensed in another jurisdiction:

Refer to the NCREC Website and page 6 of the North Carolina Candidate Handbook  

Exam Info

The exam costs $56 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. The national portion consists of 80 scored questions and 5-10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. The state law portion consists of 40 scored questions and 5 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. 

There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. You must answer at least 57 questions correctly (71%) on the national portion and answer at least 29 questions correctly (73%) on the state law portion in order to pass. 

You will have 2 hours to complete the national portion and 1 ½ hours to complete the state law portion. Your exam eligibility lasts for 180 days. You must pass both portions of the exam within this time frame. 

Fees:

  • Exam Fee- $56
  • Application Fee- $100
  • Note: If you have to re-take the exam, you will have to pay both the exam fee and application fee again
  • Criminal Background Check- Fees vary