How to get Your Real Estate Licence

Tennessee

Licensure Requirements for an Affiliate Broker

  • Minimum age of 18
  • High school diploma or equivalent
  • Fingerprint Background Check
  • Must obtain and maintain Errors and Omissions Insurance
  • Must submit an Eligibility Verification form
  • Must complete 90 hours of pre-license education
  • 60 hours prior to exam
  • 30-hour Course for New Affiliates after taking the exam
  • Pass the affiliate broker exam
  • Apply for license within 6 months of passing the exam

Licensure Requirements for a Broker

  • Minimum age of 18
  • High school diploma or equivalent
  • Submit fingerprints (Unless you already hold an active Affiliate Broker license in Tennessee)
  • Must carry Errors and Omissions Insurance
  • Must submit an Eligibility Verification form
  • Must have spent at least 3 years as an active, licensed agent (2 years if you have a degree in Real Estate)
  • Must complete 120 hours of pre-license education
  • 30 hours must be in an Office/Broker Management course
  • Pass the broker exam
  • Apply for license

Step by Step Guide (Affiliate Broker)

  1. Complete 60 hours of pre-license education, specifically in Real Estate Principles/Fundamentals through an Approved School
  2. After the school has forwarded your course completion information to PSI, you may register for the exam
  3. Pass the affiliate broker exam (See below for more information)
  4. Complete 30-hour Course for New Affiliates through an Approved School
  5. Apply for license along with all applicable documents and fees (License application will be provided at the testing center upon passing the exam)

Step by Step Guide (Broker)

  1. Complete 120 hours of pre-license education through an Approved School (30 hours must be in an Office/Broker Management course)
  2. Submit the Broker Examination Application to the Tennessee Real Estate Commission
  3. Upon notification of approval, you may schedule your exam
  4. Pass the broker exam (See below for more information)
  5. Apply for license along with all applicable documents and fees (License application will be provided at the testing center upon passing the exam)

Obtaining a Tennessee license if you are already licensed in another jurisdiction:

Refer to page 3 of the Tennessee Candidate Handbook 

Exam Info

Affiliate Broker: The exam costs $39 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. The national portion consists of 80 scored questions and 5-10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. The state law portion consists of 40 scored questions and 5-10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. 

There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. You must achieve a score of at least 70% on both national and state law to pass. 

You will have 2 hours and 40 minutes to complete the national portion. You will have 1 hour and 20 minutes to complete the state law portion.

Broker: The exam costs $39 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. In addition to standard multiple choice, the broker exam contains scenario-based questions with more than 4 possible answers to choose from. For an example of what this type of question looks like, refer to pages 17-18 of the Tennessee Candidate Handbook

The national portion consists of 75 scored questions and 5-10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. The state law portion consists of 50 scored questions and 5-10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. 

There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. You must achieve a score of at least 75% on both national and state law to pass. You will have 2 ½ hours to complete the national portion. You will have 1 ½ hours to complete the state law portion.

Fees:

  • Exam Fee- $39
  • License Fee- $91
  • Broker upgrading from Affiliate Broker- $91