How to get Your Real Estate Licence

Mississippi

Licensure Requirements for a Salesperson

  • Minimum age of 18
  • Must be a resident of Mississippi at the time of license application
  • 60 hours of real estate pre-licensing education either through a college or through an approved institution
  • Pass the salesperson exam
  • Must obtain Errors and Omissions Insurance
  • Fingerprinting 
  • Apply for License

Licensure Requirements for a Broker

  • Minimum age of 21
  • Must be a resident of Mississippi at the time of license application
  • 120 hours of real estate education either through a college or through an approved institution
  • Must have been an active, licensed salesperson for at least the 12 months leading up to the date of the broker application
  • Pass the broker exam
  • Must carry Errors and Omissions Insurance
  • Apply for License

Step by Step Guide (Salesperson)

  1. Complete 60 hours of real estate pre-licensing education either through a college or through an approved institution (For a current list of approved education providers, click on the “MREC Education Provider List” tab on the MREC Website
  2. Pass the salesperson exam (See below for more information)
  3. Obtain Errors and Omissions Insurance
  4. Fingerprinting (Call 601-321-6970 to schedule)
  1. Apply for License 

Step by Step Guide (Broker)

  1. Complete 120 hours of real estate education either through a college or through an approved institution (For a current list of approved education providers, click on the “MREC Education Provider List” tab on the MREC Website
  2. Pass the broker exam
  3. Submit all applicable reference letters (refer to the bottom of page 1 of the Mississippi Candidate Handbook)
  4. Apply for License 

Obtaining a reciprocal license if you are already licensed in another state:

Salesperson: Non-Resident Salesperson Application and Instructions 

Broker: Non-Resident Broker Application and Instructions 

Exam Info

Salesperson: The exam costs $75 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. There are 120 scored questions (80 national and 40 state law), and 5-10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. 

There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. You must achieve a score of at least 70% on the national portion and will have 2 ½ hours to complete. 

You must achieve a score of at least 75% on the state law portion and will have 1 ½ hours to complete.

Broker: The exam costs $75 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. In addition to standard multiple choice, the broker exam contains scenario-based questions with more than 4 possible answers to choose from. For further instructions, refer to page 6 of the Mississippi Candidate Handbook

There are 115 scored questions (75 national and 40 state law), and 5-10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. 

You must achieve a score of at least 75% on the national portion and will have 2 ½ hours to complete. You must achieve a score of at least 80% on the state law portion and will have 1 ½ hours to complete.

Fees:

  • Exam Fee- $75
  • Application/License Fee (Salesperson)- $120
  • Application/License Fee (Broker)- $150
  • Fingerprinting- $50