How to get Your Real Estate Licence

Alaska

Licensure Requirements for a Real Estate Salesperson

  • Minimum age of 19
  • Must have Errors and Omissions Insurance
  • Must not have a felony or have been convicted of a crime that would affect your ability to ethically practice real estate according to the judgment of the Real Estate Commission
  • Must show that you have completed 40 hours (in-person) of pre-license education
  • Pass the salesperson exam
  • Apply for state licensure within 18 months of completing pre-license education and within 6 months of passing the exam

Licensure Requirements for an Associate Broker

  • Minimum age of 21
  • Must have Errors and Omissions Insurance
  • Must not have a felony or have been convicted of a crime that would affect your ability to ethically practice real estate according to the judgment of the Real Estate Commission
  • Must show that you have completed 30 hours (in-person) of broker education
  • Must have spent at least 24 consecutive months of the previous 36 months as an active real estate licensee
  • Pass the broker exam
  • Apply for license within 18 months of completing pre-license education and within 6 months of passing the exam
  • Must be affiliated with an active broker

Licensure Requirements for a Broker

  • Minimum age of 21
  • Must have Errors and Omissions Insurance
  • Must not have a felony or have been convicted of a crime that would affect your ability to ethically practice real estate according to the judgment of the Real Estate Commission
  • Must show that you have completed 30 hours (in-person) of broker education
  • Must have spent at least 24 consecutive months of the previous 36 months as an active real estate licensee
  • Pass the broker exam
  • Apply for license within 18 months of completing pre-license education and within 6 months of passing the exam

Step by Step Guide (Salesperson)

  1. Complete 40 hours of pre-license education (Approved Schools)
  2. Pass the salesperson exam (See below for more information)
  3. Obtain Errors and Omissions Insurance
  4. Apply for license within 18 months of completing pre-license education and within 6 months of passing the exam

Step by Step Guide (Associate Broker)

  1. Complete 30 hours of broker education (Approved Schools)
  2. Pass the broker exam (See below for more information)
  3. Apply for license within 18 months of completing pre-license training and within 6 months of passing the exam 

Step by Step Guide (Broker)

  1. Complete 30 hours of broker education (Approved Schools)
  2. Pass the broker exam (See below for more information)
  3. Apply for license within 18 months of completing pre-license training and within 6 months of passing the exam

Obtaining a License by Endorsement if you already hold a license in another state (Salesperson or Broker):

Refer to page 3 of the Alaska Candidate Handbook.

Exam Info

Salesperson: The exam costs $100 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. The national portion of the exam consists of 80 scored questions and 5 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. The Alaska State Law portion of the exam consists of 40 scored questions and 5-10 pre-test questions. 

There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. You must achieve a score of at least 75 to pass. Individuals are allowed 4 hours to complete the exam.

Associate Broker/Broker: The exam costs $100 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. The national portion of the exam consists of 80 scored questions and 5 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. The Alaska State Law portion of the exam consists of 60 scored questions and 5-10 pre-test questions. 

There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. You must achieve a score of at least 75 to pass. Individuals are allowed 4 hours to complete the exam.

Fees:

  • Exam Fee- $100
  • Application Fee (Broker)- $225 or $20 if staying in same office
  • Application Fee (Salesperson)- $200
  • License Fee (Salesperson)- $140
  • Recovery Fund Fee (Salesperson)- $50
  • The total fee for a first time licensee is $390