How to get Your Real Estate Licence

Maryland

Licensure Requirements for a Salesperson

  • Minimum age of 18
  • Complete a 60-hour course (in-person or online) in real estate education through an Approved School
  • You can download a spreadsheet from the MREC Website to see individual school’s passing rates
  • Pass the salesperson exam within 12 months of completing education requirement
  • Must have a commitment from a licensed broker that says you will be affiliated with them once you receive your license
  • Apply for License within 12 months of passing the exam

Licensure Requirements for a Broker

  • Minimum age of 18
  • Complete 135 hours of broker pre-licensing education through an Approved School (You will be required to provide PSI with original or notarized copies of course transcripts before you can take the exam) 
  • You can download a spreadsheet from the MREC Website to see individual school’s passing rates
  • Pass the broker exam within 12 months of completing education requirement
  • Apply for License within 12 months of passing the exam

Step by Step Guide (Salesperson)

  1. Complete a 60-hour course (in-person or online) in real estate education through an Approved School
  2. Pass the salesperson exam (See below for more information)
  3. Obtain a commitment from a licensed broker
  4. Apply for License within 12 months of passing the exam

Step by Step Guide (Broker)

  1. Complete 135 hours of broker pre-licensing education through an Approved School
  2. Pass the broker exam (See below for more information)
  3. Apply for License within 12 months of passing the exam

Out-of-State Recognition of a License:

Refer to the MREC Website 

Exam Info

Salesperson: The exam costs $44 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. There are 110 scored questions (80 national and 30 state law), and 5-10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. 

There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. You must achieve a score of at least 70% to pass. 

You will have 90 minutes to complete the national portion and 30 minutes to complete the state law portion.

Broker: The exam costs $44 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. The broker exam contains scenario-based questions with more than 4 possible answers to choose from. For an outline on what this looks like, refer to page 6 of the Maryland Candidate Handbook. There are 115 scored questions (75 national and 40 state law), and 5-10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. 

There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. You must achieve a score of at least 70% to pass. You will have 90 minutes to complete the national portion and 30 minutes to complete the state law portion.

Fees:

  • Exam Fee- $44
  • License Fee (Salesperson)- $90
  • License Fee (Associate Broker)- $130
  • License Fee (Broker)- $190
  • Certificate of Licensure History (If Applicable)
  • 5-year history- $25
  • Full History- $75