How to get Your Real Estate Licence

North Dakota

Licensure Requirements for a Salesperson

  • Minimum age of 18
  • Must complete the 90-hour pre-license course
  • Fingerprinting
  • Errors and Omissions Insurance
  • Apply for license
  • Pass the salesperson exam

Licensure Requirements for a Broker

  • Minimum age of 18
  • Must have spent at least the past 2 years as an active, licensed salesperson
  • Must complete 60 hours of broker pre-licensing education
  • Fingerprinting
  • Must carry Errors and Omissions Insurance
  • Apply for license
  • Pass the broker exam

Step by Step Guide (Salesperson)

  1. Complete the 90-hour pre-license course from an Approved School 
  2. Apply for License (along with Criminal History Record Check Request form and appropriate fee)
  3. The NDREC, upon receipt of your application will mail you a fingerprinting kit, complete with instructions
  4. Complete fingerprint cards and mail them back to the NDREC along with the appropriate fee
  5. After you receive a letter of approval and a test ID number, contact PSI to schedule the exam
  6. Pass the salesperson exam
  7. Obtain and maintain Errors and Omissions Insurance
  8. Submit your Application to Issue Real Estate License 

Step by Step Guide (Broker)

  1. Complete 60 hours of broker pre-licensing education from an Approved School
  2. Apply for License (along with Criminal History Record Check Request form and appropriate fee)
  3. The NDREC, upon receipt of your application will mail you a fingerprinting kit, complete with instructions
  4. Complete fingerprint cards and mail them back to the NDREC along with the appropriate fee
  5. After you receive a letter of approval and a test ID number, contact PSI to schedule the exam
  6. Pass the broker exam
  7. Submit proof that you carry Errors and Omissions Insurance
  8. Submit your Application to Issue Real Estate License 

Obtaining a reciprocal license if you are already licensed in another state:

Refer to either the Reciprocal Salesperson or Reciprocal Broker section of the NDREC website  

Exam Info

Salesperson: The exam costs $131 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. There are 140 scored questions (100 national and 40 state law), and 5-10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. 

You must achieve a score of at least 70% on the national portion and at least 75% on the state law portion to pass. You will have 3 ½ hours to complete the exam.

Broker: The exam costs $131 and is administered on a computer. The broker exam consists of 11 simulation problems. Nine of these are scored and two are pre-test questions that do not affect your score. There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully.

 For more information on the broker simulation problems, refer to pages 8-10 of the North Dakota Candidate Handbook. For information on scoring, refer to pages 12-13. You will have 3 hours to complete the exam. 

Fees:

  • Exam Fee- $131
  • License Application Fee- $158 ($150 for license and $8 for credit check)
  • Fingerprint Background Check Fee- $41.25
  • Education, Research and Recovery Fund Fee- $20