How to get Your Real Estate Licence

Nevada

Licensure Requirements for a Salesperson

  • Minimum age of 18
  • Must complete 90 hours of pre-licensing education (or 6 college credit hours)
  • Fingerprint background check
  • Pass the salesperson exam
  • Apply for license within 12 months of passing the exam

Licensure Requirements for a Broker

  • Minimum age of 18
  • Must complete education requirements
  • Fingerprint background check
  • Credit report
  • Must have spent at least 2 of the previous 4 years as an active, licensed agent
  • Pass the broker exam
  • Apply for license within 12 months of passing the exam
  • For further details, refer to the Instructions for Broker License Checklist 

Step by Step Guide (Salesperson)

  1. Complete 90 hours of pre-licensing education (or 6 college credit hours) through an Approved School
  • 45 hours (or 3 college credit hours) must be in Real Estate Principles
  • 45 hours (or 3 college credit hours) must be in Real Estate Law, with 18 hours being specifically in Nevada Law
  1. Complete Fingerprinting
  2. Pass the salesperson exam (See below for more information)
  3. Apply for license within 12 months of passing the exam

Step by Step Guide (Broker)

  1. Complete education requirements (Refer to the Education/Experience Requirements section on the Broker Licensing page of the NRED Website)
  2. Complete Fingerprinting
  3. Provide proof of licensed agent experience (at least 2 of the last 4 years)
  4. Pass the broker exam
  5. Apply for license within 12 months of passing the exam
  6. Credit report must be completed no more than 30 days after the date of application

Obtaining a reciprocal license if you are already licensed in another state:

Refer to page 1 of the Nevada Real Estate Licensing Requirements 

Exam Info

Salesperson: The exam costs $100 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. There are 120 scored questions (80 national and 40 state law), and 5-10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. 

There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. You must achieve a score of at least 75% to pass. You will have 4 hours to complete the exam.

Broker: The exam costs $100 and is administered on a computer in multiple choice format. There are 130 scored questions (80 national and 50 state law), and 5-10 pre-test questions that do not affect your score. 

There is no distinction made between scored questions and pre-test questions on the exam. They are all mixed in together, so it is important that you answer each question carefully. You must achieve a score of at least 75% to pass. You will have 4 hours to complete the exam.

Fees:

  • Exam Fee- $100
  • License Application Fee (Salesperson)- $125
  • License Application Fee (Broker)- $145
  • License Application Fee (Broker-Salesperson)- $145
  • Fingerprinting- $40.25